An equation representing the perceptron, a binary classifier and one of the first neural networks and the real hardware implementing it.

Math for Experimental AIs and Neural Networks

Nothing scary

Keno Leon
8 min readMay 13, 2024

--

We all have our preferred methods of understanding complex concepts. For me, illustrations and plain language have always been my go-to tools. Take, for instance, this illustrated explainer on Neural Networks that I penned some years ago :

The world of AI research, however, is predominantly ruled by academic papers and mathematical formalization. My interest lies in experimental AIs rooted in neuroscience, but don’t worry, there’s significant overlap with established and basic AI principles. My focus here is to guide you (and myself) from idea, concept, or intuition to a mathematical representation. I’ll also provide some code to help start implementing and translating these ideas into action, a third step that is equally important.

Where to start ?

From a bird’s-eye view, the brain is composed of semi-discrete computing units known as neurons (approximately 86 billion) and the myriad connections between them (in the hundreds of trillions). Describing this intricate network which forms the…

--

--